Autumn in Sisiman

This was not part of my original plan for my Bataan Adventure but when I spotted the stunning photos of Sisiman Beach and Mount San Miguel, I didn’t think twice I immediately amended my itinerary.

Mariveles is located at the southernmost tip of Bataan. I expected a long travel time, well it was only 3 hours from Cubao but compare to my other trips I would say it was already fast.

As the clock hit 6:30 A.M., I saw myself breathing the air of Mariveles. Gloomy sky and it seemed rain should be expected anytime soon but fortunately the sun emerged and did his job perfectly!

Processed with VSCOcam

I was expecting to witness a scenic green landscape just like what I saw online. But I was shocked when it turned to be different. As the bible says “Blessed are those who do not expect for they will not be disappointed”, in my case I did expect but I did not get disappointed because it looked like Mariveles was facing an autumn season (hahaha). Seriously, almost everything was in tangerine. I could say some grass looked dehydrated which I wasn’t really sure but seeing them in group of orange made the place absolutely scenic and beautiful!

I slowly combed the hill up from the beach, from there you can see the panoramic sight of Sisiman Beach and the amazing view of Mount San Miguel glittering like an inverted, disfigured, orange-flavored cone. It looked like I was looking at one of the scenes in a fantasy film embracing the appearance of the King Sun. It’s breathtaking!

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam with 9 preset

Processed with VSCOcam

On my way down, I encountered this man who was steering his goats through the grass. I was thinking “Did these goats even wonder why the grass wasn’t green?” (hahaha). Anyway I scrolled through the slope and made my path to the lighthouse which is just at the foot of Mount San Miguel. I passed by these shabby-crumbly cottages which you can rent for hours and hide yourself from the sun, this place will also give you a good angle to see Sisiman Beach.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Few meters from these cottages is the Sisiman Lighthouse. Its white color perfectly matches the neutral background of the place. When I was at the hill it looked so small but when I stood next to it, it resembled to be a giant figure next to Mount San Miguel.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

The beach is just one-jump away from the ground so I hopped on stones and found my route to the untamed path of the beach. I noticed a couple of people grabbing something from the inners edges of the rocks and then few minute after I caught myself uncovering Sisiman coast and  killing the shot button of my camera (hehehe)!

Fair-strong waves and cool water would hit you if you would be standing at the farthermost visible rock. It is really a beautiful scene down here. Bluish sea and black-grey huge stones are nothing but perfect fusion. The beach is comprised of big rocks unified and emerged as one coastline.

 

Processed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcam with s3 presetThe rocky beach is actually one of the best places for instagrammable shots of Sisiman Lighthouse and Mount San Miguel. Pairing them together is absolutely impeccable! Magnificent view! The superb rays of the sun made the orange mountain standout. I was thinking of trekking to the mountain but due to incomplete gears, I decided to just enjoy the sight from the ground.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam with 9 preset

Processed with VSCOcam

Personally, I think this place is underrated but honestly speaking I won’t complain about it. Maybe because it all means Sisiman Beach will not be congested and I look forward people will sustain what is treasured here.

I still can’t move on about the orange tint painting the landscape (hahaha). It was December when I travelled here and I don’t have any idea for the period when greens should be green, most probably that should be summer around March to May.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

How did I get here?

In Cubao, ride a Bataan Transit Bus heading to Mariveles (Php280), tell the conductor you are going to Sisiman and to drop you off to SSS Mariveles. Rent a trike going to Sisiman Beach (Php70).

Processed with VSCOcam

 

 If you have the same escapade, share it on the comment section.  
 
One thought on “Autumn in Sisiman

Leave a Reply

