The Colors of Looc Beach

When I googled for places where I could do beach camping in Bagac, Looc Beach didn’t seem to be part of the list for popular finds. This means I ended up spending my night in Stella Mariz Beach Resort.

I really didn’t have any idea about this place until I reached my second day in Bagac. I arose around 6:00 A.M., hit the black sand beach, climbed to some tangerine rock formations and crossed the group of huge stones which seemed to look like big deformed black eggs scattered in a sand of tray.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

After minutes of photo shooting, stone hopping and mounting, I finally found what I was looking for, the beach from the other side! It’s short and its pebbly sand has a slight tint of mocha. The shore seizes stones which are scatted all over the coast. There are even some patterned to a letter V. At the tip of this beach  were locals who camped and they were the ones who told me that this place is called “Looc”.

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

I was quite delighted because I didn’t expect to see a mocha beach after the black shoreline of Stella Mariz. I knew my walking was not yet done, there is still more to see if I continue. I could fully sense another beach if I surpass this big rock next to me separating this mocha sand from the next beach of Looc.

On my last step to across this rock, I was right! I suddenly realized my long march from Stella Mariz was totally worth it. Rocks here are truly consistent in challenging you to reach your destination. But I would say that’s the best part of travelling when nature dares you.

Processed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcam

Actually, from my tent you could assert that there’s another beach on the other boundary. The white long shoreline is really obvious from a distance and that gives you curiosity to look for it. The sand here is fairer and smooth enough that makes strolling a good idea.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

I talked to some locals and according to them you can pitch your tent here for free. But there are also cottages you can rent, a whole day use will range from Php500 to Php800 while overnight use is Php1500. You can contact Kuya Robert at this number 09053077650 for inquiries and discounts.

Island or beach hopping is also available for about Php1200 but according Kuya Bongbong (09094820693) you could still ask for a mark down depending on number of tourists. You just use your charm to get the best rate!

There is  a sari-sari store in the area so food and drink supplies won’t be an issue incase you run out of stock. No beach entrance fee is collected.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam

What I like about this place, it is not crowded, it is clean and well maintained by the locals. Beachcombers would definitely enjoy walking on the waterside of the beach. Budget won’t assassinate your wallet, camping is for free and it’s close to Metro Manila. The water is clean so you would surely have a great time swimming.

Processed with VSCOcam

How did I get here?

Well, aside from the route I took, there’s a better way to go here.

Ride a Bataan Transit Bus in Cubao going to Balanga Bus Terminal (Php200). Then take a Morong Bus (Php45), please inform the conductor to drop you off to Lasalle Bagac in Barangay Banawang. From there rent a trike going to Looc Beach, you can message Kuya Bongbong to pick you up (Php100).

Bus companies plying to Bataan:

  1. Victory Liner (www.victoryliner.com)
  2. Bataan Transit (www.bataantransit.com)
  3. Genesis Transport (www.genesistransport.com.ph)

Processed with VSCOcam

If you have the same escapade, I’d like to hear it on the comment section. 

 

Leave a Reply

