Isn’t It An Awesome Agno?

To cut the long story short, the Five Star bus heading to Anda left Cubao around 12:10 A.M. and as early as 4:30 A.M. I found myself standing on the black sand of Sabangan Beach in Agno. Yes, I arrived that early! Wearing only denim shorts and thin shirt, I was really shivering because of the chilly breeze coming from the sea. I could hear the roar of waves and smell the scent of the beach but it was all dark and the only light seeable was transpiring from the lamppost. Luckily, the caretaker was already up and he allowed me to stay in one of the cottages while waiting for the sunrise. I alarmed my cellphone at 5:45 A.M., took out my sleeping bed and napped. So, the moment I heard my phone ringing, I immediately stood up, left my backpack at the cottage and went to the beach to meet the sun and awesome rocks of Agno!

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Sunrise at the Lighthouse

I recognized the rays of the sun beaming behind the giant rocks and trees but I wanted to glimpse the actual sun so I went up to the lighthouse and settled at the middle level of its stairs. Please give extra care when going here, the lighthouse doesn’t have any handrails. Up from there you can see the panoramic view of Sabangan Beach and the other side of the coastline.

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

 

The Umbrella Rocks

Agno is famous because of these rock formations. I read from other the blogs, people call them umbrellas because they give shady places to hide people from the sun. Well, actually you can think of anything like mushroom, dog, broccoli and tree. They even look like this tiny enemy in Super Mario Bros. There are smaller rock formations at the leftmost part of the beach and this is also a good spot for taking photos.

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Seaweeds

In the middle shore of Sabangan, I saw these 2 tireless women picking something from the low tide seabeds, I approached them and made some small talks. They were harvesting seaweeds which would be sold at the public market in Agno. They usually last here for about 3-4 hours just to get a kilo or 2 of this green algae and each kilo costs Php70 to Php80. Aside from fishing, this is the other source of income here. Manang told me seaweed could be an extra ingredient to your regular sautéed vegetables.

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

White Pebbly Beach

Sabangan beach has the usual black sand so I was truly puzzled over about this white-tiny shore I saw from afar. So after meeting the 2 ladies, I directly walked my way to the rightmost portion of the beach. At the end of my strolling, these sights appeared.

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam

I seriuosly thought I wouldn’t find any more rocks on the tail end of the white beach but (hahaha) these rock formations are unstoppable! I suddenly remember my dog because of this rock shape.

Processed with VSCOcam

Sabangan Beach  is absolutely worth a visit and it feels like you are walking on a supreme bliss of rocks and nature! I was really glad I dropped by here first before going to Bolinao.

Processed with VSCOcam

This Agno trip was a part of my Pangasinan escape. I stayed here for 5.5 hours (4:30 A.M. to 10:00 A.M.) which was good enough to take pictures and discover the beauty of Sabangan Beach.  If you decided to stay longer, there are cottages you can rent. I didn’t notice any sari sari store, you better make sure to bring refreshments. Beach entrance fee is only Php10 and you pay it to the caretaker.

How did I get here?

Via Anda Bus –  Ride a Five Star Bus in Cubao going to Anda (Php420). Tell the conductor to drop you off to Bani Trike Terminal which has a route to Umbrella Rocks or Sabangan Beach in Agno. From there rent a trike going to the Sabangan Beach (Php220).

Processed with VSCOcam

If you have the same escapade share it on the comment section.

One thought on “Isn’t It An Awesome Agno?

Leave a Reply

