Where is San Salvador?

Definitely, in El Salvador or Bahamas! Yes! But aside from those North American countries, where else can you find this island name? Ummm… well who would have thought Philippines has a compact island near South China Sea with this fancy name. I didn’t know at first until I searched for unspoiled beaches in Zambales. I found several blogs wherein this island is the keynote of their talks. Clear water, old beach house, giant clams and spiky sea stars are just some of the stunning discoveries you could find here. So the day I made my way to Zambales, I didn’t drop my chance to experience this piece of island.

Processed with VSCOcam
Crossing the threshold of Masinloc Bay
Processed with VSCOcam
The Bacala beach house stands rugged on a white sandbar in the heart of a low tide inlet
Processed with VSCOcam
Mang Mulo eases up at the side corridor of the beach house
Processed with VSCOcam
Find the sea star
Processed with VSCOcam
Free parking on a grassy bay

This island is inhabited by many locals but there are still beaches that are interesting and untainted. I requested Mang Mulo to take me there and he said yes. So in a very short time our green boat was instantly parked to another shore. At the start of my walk, a middling and rocky strand welcomed my sight but as I moved further I got a good glimpse of a mocha-white sand beach.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Sea stars and giant clams were very infrequent on that day or perhaps I was just too idle to search them but it was compensated by an ample amount of sea grass (hehehe) which I find very picturesque. During high tide the water slurps the legs of the Bacala beach house which makes the view more striking and scenic.

I really had a great time in San Salvador. This 2-hour island hopping is truly worth a try. For directions please check out my Magalawa Escape in Zambales.

If you have the same escapade share it on the comment section.

Leave a Reply

